Senator Barrasso Needs Educated on CCSS and NGA

Below I’ve included Senator Barrasso’s “canned” response I received after I emailed his office.  I spoke of my concerns about educators and parents losing input into their student’s/children’s education with the implementation of Common Core.  I am preparing to reply in a lengthier email, as it’s apparent our senator doesn’t think I understand how the Common Core Initiative began.  I know EXACTLY how it began!

Here is Senator Barrasso’s Response:

Thank you for taking the time to contact me. It is good to hear from you.

 I appreciate you sharing your thoughts with me about the Common Core State Standards (CCSS). The National Governors Association and the Council of Chief State School Officers pioneered the development of the CCSS.

 The CCSS initiative is a state-led effort in which each state independently decides on whether to adopt the standards in their state. It is not mandatory. CCSS is not part of No Child Left Behind or any other federal education law.In June 2012, Wyoming adopted the CCSS as the newest standards in English and Math. More information can be found at the following link:

http://edu.wyoming.gov/Programs/standards/common-core-state-standards.aspx

I believe the true strength of our educational system is local control. State and local officials should have the primary responsibility of ensuring the quality of Wyoming’s schools. Please know I appreciate you sharing your thoughts with me and will keep them in mind as I continue my work in the Senate.

 Again, thank you for taking the time to contact me. I value your input.

 

John Barrasso, M.D.                                                                          United States Senator

Yes, the NGA and CCSS pioneered the development….well, if you call pioneered as being hired by The Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation!  Gates’ Foundation funded the International Benchmarking Advisory Group report for Common Core Standards on behalf of the National Governors Association, Council of Chief State School Officers, and ACHIEVE, Inc. titled, “Benchmarking for Success: Ensuring U.S. Students Receive a World-Class Education.”

If you would like an EXTENSIVE list of primary sources and documents that was put together by Christel Swasey and her exceptional blog, Common Core: Education Without Representation.   You will find a wealth of information there.

Bill Gates and why his influence is SCARY for educational reform!http://whatiscommoncore.wordpress.com/2013/03/28/top-ten-scariest-people-in-education-reform-5-bill-gates/

Learn how Bill Gates  is involved DEEPLY into Common Core AND how his he and Pearson will have a monopoly over textbooks and the majority of items published to assit teachers and school districts in using the Common Core. 

http://www.nytimes.com/2011/04/28/education/28gates.html?_r=0

Maybe I should forward this wonderful article by Joy Pullman at Heartland, to his office.  Joy does an excellent job explaining how NGA is a nonprofit organization funded by our Federal Tax dollars!

http://news.heartland.org/newspaper-article/2013/04/24/state-led-common-core-pushed-federally-funded-nonprofit

3 thoughts on “Senator Barrasso Needs Educated on CCSS and NGA

  1. So he believes local control is best? And that state and local officials need to be held responsible for quality education?? Well then, he knows NOTHING about Common Core’s conception!! NGA and CCSS are Washington based! There wasn’t any “state-led” effort. Most local school board members didn’t even know about CC until it was adopted.
    What does Dr Senator think “local control” means? Local as in national?

    Like

  2. I just went to a class on common core. I left distressed! I’ll have to write to John Barasso! Anyway, I am looking for contacts, educating myself and wanting to take action! We’ve got to get Wyoming out of this mess! Let me know how i can help, in the mean time I’m hoping to begin meeting with each of our school board members individually.

    Like

Leave a Reply

