HB97 Passes Introducation with 47-13 Vote! Continue Take Action Emails…

WyomingLeg From Wyoming Citizens Opposing Common Core

We witnessed the beauty of a free republic in action today in Cheyenne.  Concerned citizens turned out to speak face-to-face with Wyoming legislators.  As this happened, we watched “no” votes turn into “yes” votes as concerned parents challenged the claims that have been made to support the Common Core State Standards, and articulated the many issues that come with them.  The valuable conversations that took place will now be allowed to continue as this bill advances to the House Education Committee.

The efforts of the grassroots were bolstered by the presence of national leaders Dr. Sandra Stotsky, Erin Tuttle and Emmett McGroarty, Esq.  After an inspirational and empowering event the night prior, these leaders accompanied citizens to the Capitol for the bill introduction and proved an invaluable support.

Two articles have covered this important step towards winning this battle to take back education in Wyoming.  Read Shane Vander Hart’s article from Truth in American Eduation here.  Also, another article from WyoFile,  quotes Representative John Freeman’s (D-Rock Springs) “experiment” quote supporting Common Core here.

A second house bill addressing Common Core, Smarter Balanced, and student data collection and sharing (HB168) is expected to be introduced by the end of the week.  Wyoming Citizens Opposing Common Core supports any effort to safeguard students from the certain negative consequences of the current education reform agenda.  Even though we know we have a solid piece of legislation in HB 97 and for now will continue to direct our primary efforts here, we applaud the thought and  hard work put into this bill and are thrilled that so many in Wyoming are willing to step up, speak out, and take action.

While HB168 awaits introduction, we feel compelled to forge ahead with HB97 as this bill has already been assigned to the House Education committee.

We must once again ask for communication from you to our elected representatives.  Please contact the following committee members and express your support for HB97, keeping your message brief (personalizing it) and including a subject line that states your main request, as legislators are inundated during session and may only get to scanning their e-mails.  Sample subject lines might be “Please vote YES on HB97″ or “HB97 Yes”.  The House Education committee emails are:

Jerry.Paxton@wyoleg.gov, Garry.Piiparinen@wyoleg.gov, Hans.Hunt@wyoleg.gov, David.Northrup@wyoleg.gov, Matt.Teeters@wyoleg.gov, Cathy.Connolly@wyoleg.gov, Albert.Sommers@wyoleg.gov, John.Patton@wyoleg.gov, John.Freeman@wyoleg.gov

 

Click here to see the 1-page overview of the bill which will help you communicate your thoughts.  Thank you so very much…your efforts have made their mark on the legislature, and the only way to keep it going is to keep up the pressure!

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s