Amendment Stops Funds for NGSS & New Action Item

no-$-480

An amendment on the budget bill regarding education passed the conference committee yesterday.   The amendment prevents any funds from being spent on the adoption of the Next Generation Science Standards! Here is the language of this great amendment:

In carrying out W.S. 21-2-304(c) by reviewing the uniformity and quality of the educational program standards imposed under W.S. 21-9-101 and 21-9-102 and the student content and performance standards promulgated under W.S. 21-2-304(a)(iii) neither the state board of education nor the department shall expend any amount appropriated under this section for any review or adoption of the next generation science standards as developed by the National Science Teacher’s Association, the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the National Research Council and Achieve.

Thank you to the legislators who supported this amendment and to all of you who participated in asking for their support!

TAKE ACTION BEFORE FRIDAY:

Email the Senate to ask them to support amendment HB0001H3014.

BCC the Senate: Jim.Anderson.SD02@wyoleg.gov; Jim.Anderson.SD28@wyoleg.gov; Paul.Barnard@wyoleg.gov; Eli.Bebout@wyoleg.gov; Bruce.Burns@wyoleg.gov; Cale.Case@wyoleg.gov; Leland.Christensen@wyoleg.gov; Hank.Coe@wyoleg.gov; Stan.Cooper@wyoleg.gov; Bernadine.Craft@wyoleg.gov; Dan.Dockstader@wyoleg.gov; Ogden.Driskill@wyoleg.gov; Fred.Emerich@wyoleg.gov; Floyd.Esquibel@wyoleg.gov; Gerald.Geis@wyoleg.gov; John.Hastert@wyoleg.gov; Larry.Hicks@wyoleg.gov; John.Hines@wyoleg.gov; Wayne.Johnson@wyoleg.gov; Bill.Landen@wyoleg.gov; Curt.Meier@wyoleg.gov; Phil.Nicholas@wyoleg.gov; Leslie.Nutting@wyoleg.gov; Drew.Perkins@wyoleg.gov; Ray.Peterson@wyoleg.gov; Tony.Ross@wyoleg.gov; Chris.Rothfuss@wyoleg.gov; John.Schiffer@wyoleg.gov; Charles.Scott@wyoleg.gov; Michael.VonFlatern@wyoleg.gov

Suggested Subject: Please support the Conference Committee Amendment on Science Standards: HB0001H3014

Suggested Content:

Dear Senator,

Please support HB0001H3014.

Copy & Paste the amendment: In carrying out W.S. 21-2-304(c) by reviewing the uniformity and quality of the educational program standards imposed under W.S. 21-9-101 and 21-9-102 and the student content and performance standards promulgated under W.S. 21-2-304(a)(iii) neither the state board of education nor the department shall expend any amount appropriated under this section for any review or adoption of the next generation science standards as developed by the National Science Teacher’s Association, the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the National Research Council and Achieve.

Include a short statement on why the Next Generation Science Standards are bad for Wyoming.

Thank you for taking the time to make your voice heard when it comes to Wyoming’s Education!

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s